Friday, December 21, 2012
12/21/12
Looks like the Mayans were just tired and out of space. The world goes on. Wounds from Newtown will never fully heal but we press on. The carnage must stop.
The Royals have coasted through the past week. I'd imagine they will be in coast mode for the majority of the off season. I hope they were at least in contact with the Angels about Morales. Luke for Kendrys would have been fine by me. I say that because I watched Hosmer closely last year and I didn't like what I saw. The kid was more than just in a slump. He was awful. I really thought he needed the eyes checked. That's harsh, I know, but the kid was awful. Morales is a way better hitter from the left side right now. I know he doesn't have the olay flair Hosmer does at first base, but hitting the ball is not a problem for him. I'm down on Hosmer and afraid that between him, Moose and Frenchy this upcoming season will look familiar. A combined 225 average from 3 corner positions isn't going to lead anywhere but 90 losses. Cy Young and all the great pitchers of the past need at least some support. I'd like to see the Royals be semi aggressive in the secondary market. They need to at least explore improvements in the line up. I really like Falu and Abreu for the utility role. I think Falu offers more D flexibility but Abreu seems to have a nose for the RBI. Wouldn't that be a nice nose to have in the lineup? Excitement for the new, improved rotation is understandable. I count myself in that group. I just can't get overly excited about a team with gaping holes in the lineup. Hosmer CANNOT start as slowly as he did last year. He was awful. I will keep saying that so someone, anyone, will take what the kid put on film as warning that the kid is big time overrated. I fell for the his rookie season. I thought they finally had that guy. By June of last year I wondered how long a slump could last. By September last year I saw a fish out of water. Hosmer was over matched by all lefties and he was AWFUL. He bounced back in the minors after eye surgery and did what he did. How do you account for last year? I don't know the answer but we will know by May. If he isn't hitting his weight then, he should be sent down to find it. The kid glove routine with him didn't work. I sincerely hope the kid can put together a great season and prove me wrong. Moose can't hit 242. He was totally inconsistent as well. I guess we are supposed to over look just how lacking these two were at cornerstone positions because they have POTENTIAL. They are potentially the demise of the 13 season. First, second, and third have to improve off the charts for the team to be 500. I didn't forget right field I just really, really cannot stand the player that occupies that spot. Perez nearly caught him in every power category. Sal didn't make stupid throws to showcase his arm, and allow a ton of base runners to move up. Also, Frenchy may be the worst base runner I have ever seen. Well, outside of Aviles. OK, same theme. Hosmer needs to be on a short leash. 180 average in May? Sit his butt and find someone else. Moose going weeks without an RBI. Frenchy being Frenchy. You have your double digit losing streak and Ned is gone. These positions are scary to me and I'm an optimist.
I wish everyone a very happy holiday season. My job affords me two weeks vacation this time of year. I will take that from this little blog, too. If the Royals trade for Bud Norris or if they dump the Hochevar trash I'll be back in a Las Vegas minute.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment