Saturday, April 6, 2013
5 Games into 2013
After a productive/successful spring the Royals are now 5 games into their 2013 campaign. The "Rotation" has had one revolution. Santana was killed by the long ball, Davis was very hittable. Guthrie was very good. Shields was very good. Mendoza was very good. When you have 3 out of 5 very good performances from your starters that is a nice start to the season. The 2-3 record is what it is. I hope it isn't the route the season will take. They play 162 so hopefully I won't have to see a game like the one I saw tonight. Awful. I tuned in right as Frenchy hit a double to lead off an inning. He was promptly doubled in by Tejada. Miguel went to right field in a very nice display of fundamental baseball. Tejada was sacrificed to third. I thought I was watching a different team. Whenever Frenchy gets a hit I'm surprised, but back to back fundamentally sound baseball plays really surprised me. 3-1, Getz to bat for Mendoza. Awesome. First pitch, Miguel gets picked off third base. Seriously. It was then I knew I was watching a team that hasn't been good for decades. The pitchers were great all night. Mendoza, Crow, and Herrera were great. Then the closer comes on. He walks three in a row. Strikes out two. Then he loses the game with a three run double. Yes, all three shitty walks came in to score. Holland blew it. Plain and simple. Game 5 last year was similar. Gravy drinking Broxton blows a lead with a walk. The Royals go on to lose that game and 11 more on their way to a 3-14 start. The pitching has been good. The pen had been great until tonight. Well, Whoreshaver still sucks, but the rest of the pen had been good. The hitting will come around. I'm not sure this team is any better than the other 2000's teams. That loss tonight was an embarrassment. Hopefully Shields will shut the Phillies down and they can venture home 3-3. I'm too old to worry about the Royals. I cried with Patek. I felt awful for Willie Wilson in 80. I was so happy in 85. I'm sick and tired of the same old bullshit. The team needs to win me back. Three consecutive walks in a 3-1 game isn't the way to do that. Herrera will end up the closer. That or he will end up in a big market. His stuff is crazy.
Here's to hoping this awful game will be a funny memory at the end of a 500 or better season. Do all Royals fans hold their breath and think that every loss is the start of an epic losing streak?
I do.
Go Royals, go home 3-3!
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment