Friday, May 31, 2013

Royals ineptitude

When I last wrote the Royals were 20-20. They were 3-10 and not playing well. Well that stretch has become Royals size. They are a bad, bad baseball outfit. I'd love to add the words "right now" to the previous sentence but it doesn't belong. The team is full of borderline players. They have a manager that makes baffling decisions. They have a GM that signed Jose Guillen AND Frenchy. They have two golden boys named Hosmer and Moose. The gold is actually pyrite. Royals fandom is the same thing. I have great memories of baseball in general, and Royals baseball specifically. I will always have those memories. I have to move on from this team, though. I watch a good amount of baseball and this team is bad. They don't play the right way. They are fundamentally unsound. They can't execute the most basic of plays. They are undisciplined at the plate and in the field. I'm not an expert but I can see that this team needs new leadership. Ned is not the man to manage this group. They need someone that will actually give them shit for not getting the job done. You don't need to spank them Ned, you prick, but you do need to pretend you care. You let your guys get run while you sit there thinking about hunting. I hope the Royals will can Ned, Moore, and the Glasses. I hope they do, but I can't care anymore. I've wasted too many seasons wishing and making excuses for this team. They are bad. They are a laughing stock. It wasn't always that way. It will stay that way, though. Stupid salary decisions have doomed this team. Moore and his process need to go. I guarantee you we all would lose our jobs if we performed so poorly. I used to deliver newspapers. We didn't have ESPN and the internet. I used to read the box scores every summer morning. It's much easier to be a fan of a team that wins 90 plus games. It's those mornings and the feeling I had when the interim hitting coach slammed Gossage's pitch into the upper deck and the witch finally died. I'll remember the elation of watching the game pictured here. I also knew the Royals would win the next game. Funny every time they lose a game now I'm afraid they will end up in a 5-25 stretch. If you are a Royals fan, I wish you well. I will always be proud to say I was a Royals fan. I'm just too proud to continue being a fan of this team.

No comments:

Post a Comment